Review Policy

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

The Daughter by Jane Shemilt

The Daughter by Jane Shemilt
Release date: March 3, 2015
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
My rating: 3
Buy here: Amazon


Synopsis:
In the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Ruth Rendell, this compelling and clever psychological thriller spins the harrowing tale of a mother’s obsessive search for her missing daughter.
Jenny is a successful family doctor, the mother of three great teenagers, married to a celebrated neurosurgeon.
But when her youngest child, fifteen-year-old Naomi, doesn’t come home after her school play, Jenny’s seemingly ideal life begins to crumble. The authorities launch a nationwide search with no success. Naomi has vanished, and her family is broken.
As the months pass, the worst-case scenarios—kidnapping, murder—seem less plausible. The trail has gone cold. Yet for a desperate Jenny, the search has barely begun. More than a year after her daughter’s disappearance, she’s still digging for answers—and what she finds disturbs her. Everyone she’s trusted, everyone she thought she knew, has been keeping secrets, especially Naomi. Piecing together the traces her daughter left behind, Jenny discovers a very different Naomi from the girl she thought she’d raised. 


My Thoughts:
I was browsing amazon when I found this book and thought it sounded really good, so I bought it. 
This book just wasn't what I was expecting, it was still good, but I just couldn't really get into it. I found that my mind was wondering while reading. It could have been the fact that it kept going from past to present and that wasn't working for me.
I felt so bad for Jenny, the life she thought her family had turned out to be completely wrong. It was like she didn't even know her kids or husband. To me, that was tragically sad. She had blinders on and when everyone told her the truth, those blinders came off. 
When Jenny's young daughter comes up missing, she starts to discover that Naomi wasn't who she thought she was. Naomi had a whole other life that her Mom knew nothing about. As the time passed Jenny kept putting together different pieces of her daughter's life and she's shocked as she discovers some things. I'm probably not explaining this book very well. Think Gone girl meets The secret life of the American Teenager. Got the picture now? Good. You now know what this book is about. 
I have a serious question now for those who have read this book. Was that Naomi at the end of the book or not??? The author never comes right out and says.