Review Policy

Monday, September 7, 2015

Blog tour: Delayed Penalty by Sophia Henry


Enter to Win a 
Select Loveswept Ebook Bundle


DELAYED PENALTY
Pilots Hockey #1
Sophia Henry
Releasing Sept 1st, 2015


She closed her heart long ago. He just wants to open her mind. For fans of Toni Aleo and Sawyer Bennett, the debut of Sophia Henry’s red-hot Detroit Pilots series introduces a hockey team full of complicated men who fight for love.

Auden Berezin is used to losing people: her father, her mother, her first love. Now, just when she believes those childhood wounds are finally healing, she loses something else: the soccer scholarship that was her ticket to college. Scrambling to earn tuition money, she’s relieved to find a gig translating for a Russian minor-league hockey player—until she realizes that he’s the same dangerously sexy jerk who propositioned her at the bar the night before.

Equal parts muscle and scar tissue, Aleksandr Varenkov knows about trauma. Maybe that’s what draws him to Auden. He also lost his family too young, and he channeled the pain into his passions: first hockey, then vodka and women. But all that seems to just melt away the instant he kisses Auden and feels a jolt of desire as sudden and surprising as a hard check on the ice.

After everything she’s been through, Auden can’t bring herself to trust any man, let alone a hot-headed puck jockey with a bad reputation. Aleksandr just hopes she’ll give him a chance—long enough to prove he’s finally met the one who makes him want to change.

MY THOUGHTS:
At first, I thought that this book was just going to be your typical "tutor falls in love with athlete" type of book, but it wasn't and I loved it! The characters had so much depth to them and there was an actual plot. I couldn't help but to feel sad for Auden, losing her mother at such a young age and then believing that he grandparents didn't want her. My heart also broke for Aleksandr, feeling like it was his fault that his parents died. Such a heavy burden. Both Auden and Aleksandr brought out the best in each other, in my opinion. With him Auden could be herself and just say what she wanted. I also like the fact that they mainly spoke to each other in Russian, it was like their own secret language around other people. I really can't wait for the second book in this series. 


BUY NOW
Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo


a Rafflecopter giveaway



Sophia Henry, a proud Detroit native, fell in love with reading, writing, and hockey all before she became a teenager. She did not, however, fall in love with snow. So after graduating with an English degree from Central Michigan University, she moved to North Carolina, where she spends her time writing books featuring hockey-playing heroes, chasing her two high-energy sons, watching her beloved Detroit Red Wings, and rocking out at concerts with her husband.